The University of Hawaii men’s volleyball team placed six players on the 14-member All-Big West Conference first-team which was announced on Wednesday.

The Rainbow Warriors represented were outside hitters Spyros Chakas and Chaz Galloway, opposite Dimitrios Mouchlias, libero Brett Sheward, setter Jakob Thelle and middle blocker Guilherme Voss.

All the latest sports news from Hawaii’s sports station

Middle blocker Kurt Nusterer was selected to the nine-member All-Freshman team, giving the ‘Bows a total of seven players honored by the Big West Conference.

For a complete look at all of the conference team selections, click here.

The Big West Conference individual awards will be announced next Tuesday.

The Big West Championship runs from April 20 to 22 in Irvine, Calif. By virtue of the No. 1 seed, UH earned a bye into the semifinals and will play the winner of UC Santa Barbara-UC San Diego in Friday’s semifinals.

2023 All-Big West Conference first team selections

Student-Athlete Year Position Institution Hometown 
Mason Briggs &*^ Jr.LLong Beach StateValencia, Calif.
Spyros Chakas & Jr.OHHawai’iNea Smyrni, Greece 
Chaz Galloway * Jr.OHHawai’iSan Diego, Calif.
Hilir Henno & So.OHUC IrvinePornichet, France 
Kyle Hobus &^ R-Jr.OHCSUNSan Pedro, Calif.
Dimitrios Mouchlias @ Jr.OPPHawai’iSoufli, Greece 
Spencer Olivier @%^R-Sr.OHLong Beach StateTustin, Calif.
Francesco Sani & Jr.OPP UC IrvineBethesda, Md.
Brett ShewardJr.L/SHawai’iNewport Beach, Calif.
Sotiris Siapanis So.OHLong Beach StateLimassol, Cyprus
Jakob Thelle &* Sr.SHawai’iTonsberg, Norway
Simon Torwie Jr.MBLong Beach StateArtà, Balearic Islands, Spain 
Guilherme Voss & Jr.MBHawai’iRio de Janeiro, Brazil
Ryan Wilcox &*~ Sr.OHUC Santa BarbaraHonolulu, Hawai’i
Honorable Mention: Clarke Godbold & (Long Beach State); Shane Holdaway (Long Beach State); Ryan Ka (UC San Diego); Joe Karlous (UC Irvine); Aidan Knipe (Long Beach State); Griffin Walters (CSUN)
& – 2022 All-Big West; @ -2022 Honorable Mention; % – 2021 All-Big West; * – 2021 Honorable Mention; ^ – 2020 Honorable Mention; ~ – 2019 Honorable Mention