Rainbows hit the road looking to keep the ‘Bow-mentum’ rolling

Sports
bows #10 pregame handshakes with team_1556064553769.jpg.jpg

The University of Hawai’i baseball team will play eight-consecutive games away from home beginning with a non-conference tilt at the University of San Diego on Wednesday, April 24. The Rainbow Warriors will then jump back into Big West play with three games at CSUN set for Friday, April 26 – Sunday, April 28.

The ‘Bows are coming off a series win over defending Big West champion Cal State Fullerton last week at Les Murakami Stadium.


Hawai’i (16-20) at San Diego (25-15)
When: Wednesday, April 24
Time: 6:00 p.m. PT (3:00 p.m. HT)
Where: Fowler Field – San Diego, Calif. 
TV: None
Streaming Video: TheW.TV
Radio: ESPN Honolulu (92.7 FM, 1420 AM) – Scott Galetti on the call
Live Stats: USDToreros.com


Hawai’i (16-20, 6-6 Big West) at CSUN (16-22, 4-8 Big West)
When: Friday, April 26 – Sunday, April 28
Time: Friday – 3:00 p.m. PT (12:00 p.m. HT); Saturday & Sunday – 1:00 p.m. PT (10:00 a.m. HT)
Where: Matador Field – Northridge, Calif. 
TV: None
Streaming Video: BigWest.TV – Game 1 | Game 2 | Game 3
Radio: Friday & Saturday – CBS Sports Radio 1500; Sunday – ESPN Honolulu (92.7 FM, 1420 AM) – Scott Galetti on the call
Live Stats: GoMatadors.com

Game Notes

  • Hawai’i is 7-2 in the all-time series versus San Diego.
  • The last time Hawai’i faced San Diego was during the 2010 season when the ‘Bows went 3-0 versus the Toreros.
  • Hawai’i won the regular season meeting in San Diego, then beat the Toreros twice at the NCAA Tempe Regional hosted by Arizona State. UH had three future major league players on that 2010 roster – Kolten Wong, Greg Garcia and David Freitas.
  • Hawai’i went 1-2 versus CSUN last season at Les Murakami Stadium.
  • The Rainbow Warriors are 19-32 in the all-time series versus the Matadors.
  • Now in his 18th season as the UH Skipper, Mike Trapasso is three wins away 500 for his career.
  • Last time out, Hawai’i took two out of three from Big West perennial power Cal State Fullerton at Les Murakami Stadium. After dropping the series opener, UH bounced back by winning the final two games to win the series.
  • In the series victory over Cal State Fullerton, junior Logan Pouelsen stole the show in the three-game set. The Huntington Beach native had a pinch-hit RBI single in the opener then followed with a walk-off three-run home run to win game two. In the series finale, Pouelsen started on the mound and went 5.0 inning, allowing just one run on four hits.
  • There are 11 players on Hawai’i’s current roster from the state of California.
  • The ‘Bows have gone 10-14 in non-conference games this season.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories