Rainbow Warriors volleyball team earns 5 more national awards ahead of semifinals


2021 Off The Block Hawaii MVB Winners

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The University of Hawai’i men’s volleyball team grabbed five of Off the Block’s National Awards with opposite Rado Parapunov and libero Gage Worsley each winning two.
Parapunov, who earlier in the day was named AVCA National Player of the Year, won the Nicolas Szerszen Award for the third consecutive year as the nation’s best non-U.S. born player. He also won the Bryan Ivie Award as the nation’s best opposite for the second time (also won in 2019).

[Latest stories from Hawaii’s Sports Station — KHON2 Sports]

Worsley took home the Erik Shoji Award as the nation’s best libero for the third consecutive year and also won the Steve Shondell Award as the nation’s best passer for the second straight year. 
Middle blocker Patrick Gasman won the Ryan Millar Award for the first time in his career after being a finalist in 2019 and 2020.
UH placed a finalist in seven of the 11 categories. A nationwide voting committee of more than 25 college coaches and volleyball media determined the finalists and the winners for each award. 
Off the Block is the national award winning website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in men’s volleyball coverage.
Lloy Ball Award: Casey McGarry, UCSB
Bryan Ivie Award: Rado Parapunov, Hawai’i
Karch Kiraly Award: Ryan Coenen, Lewis
Ryan Millar Award: Patrick Gasman, Hawai’i
Erik Shoji Award: Gage Worsley, Hawai’i
Division II National Player of the Year: Ryan Coenen, Lewis
Nicolas Szerszen Award: Rado Parapunov, Hawai’i
Dain Blanton Diversity Award: Tyler Mitchem, Lewis
National Blocker of the Year: Lucas Galifos, McKendree
National Server of the Year: Cal Fisher, Penn State
Steve Shondell Award: Gage Worsley, Hawai’i


Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.