University of Hawai‘i wins Men’s and Women’s MPSF Championships

Local Sports
SWIMMING AND DIVING_1550994029865.jpeg.jpg
Fill out my online form.

he University of Hawai’i swimming and diving teams made history on Saturday as both the men’s and the women’s squads claimed Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Championships.
Going into the day, the women held the lead over UC Davis while the men were a spot above UC Santa Barbara. UH stayed the course in both divisions closing out the day as the women notched their third consecutive title, and the men won their first ever MPSF championship.
“Team effort all around,” said head coach Dan Schemmel. “The divers were absolute rock stars this week. Couldn’t be happier or prouder of the group. Very thankful for the support of David Matlin, the whole UH Athletic Department, and this amazing staff. Go ‘Bows”
MISSION VIEJO, Calif.— The University of Hawai’i diving squad closed out their portion of the championships by sweeping all three events in both the men’s and women’s competitions.
Senior Johan Sandell finished second behind freshman Max Burman in both the one-meter and the three-meter over the previous two days, but on Saturday he excelled in his top event with the platform dive, finishing first overall. Sandell finished over 100 points better than his teammate, freshman Octavio Lucerowith a score 449.80. The men finished one, two, three in the event with junior Lucas Cooperman taking the No. 3 spot.
Sophomore Victoria Moretti notched her first platform victory of the season with a score of 265.85 while senior Monica Gavaris took the third-place spot.
LA MIRADA, Calif.—The University of Hawai’i swimming squad saw a new record set in the women’s 1650 free as junior Phoebe Hines set a new mark in the event with a time of 15:45.68, finishing more than a minute ahead of the second-place competitor.
Being led by the senior duo of Bryndis Hansen and Kasey Schmidt, sophomores Mia Tedesco and Anna Kotonen helped the women’s team collected their fourth separate relay first-place finish with the 400 free relay clocking in with a time of 3:19.74.
Senior Metin Aydin matched Hines with his third individual first-place finish as he took the No. 1 spot in the 200 backstrokes, touching the wall at 1:44.15.
Women’s Total First Place Finishes
• 100 Backstroke (52.64)- Karolina Hajkova
• 100 Breaststroke (1:00.36)- Kionna Clayton
• 100 Butterfly (53.04)- Lucia Lassman
• 200 Free (1:45.68)- Phoebe Hines
• 500 Free (4:38.50)- Phoebe Hines
• 1650 Free (15:45.68)- Phoebe Hines
• 200 Medley Relay (1:38.35)- Karolina HajkovaKionna ClaytonLucia LassmanKasey Schmidt
• 400 Medley Relay (3:37.97)- Karolina HajkovaKionna ClaytonLucia LassmanBryndis Hansen
• 400 Free Relay (3:19.74)- Bryndis HansenKasey SchmidtMia TedescoAnna Kotonen
• 800 Free Relay (7:13.59)- Silvija DjelicPhoebe HinesAnna Kotonen, Katie Strachan
• One Meter- Jami Stone
• Three Meter- Ivy Houser
• Platform- Victoria Moretti
Men’s Total First Place Finishes
• 100 Backstroke (46.23)- Metin Aydin
• 200 Backstroke (1:41.02) Metin Aydin
• 200 Individual Medley (1:44.15)- Metin Aydin
• 400 Individual Medley (3:46. 81)- Talon Lindquist
• 200 Medley Relay (1:24.57)- Metin AydinOlli KokkoMateusz ChabaReed Wynn
• 400 Medley Relay (3:09.55)- Metin AydinDavid SpringhettiMateusz ChabaReed Wynn
• One Meter- Max Burman
• Three Meter- Max Burman
• Platform- Johan Sandell

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories