Carissa Moore captures WSL Surf Ranch Pro Championship

Local Sports

Carissa Moore (HAW) and Gabriel Medina (BRA) have won the Surf Ranch Pro presented by Hurley, Stop No. 8 on the World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT).

Today’s victory is the first of the season for Moore and her first on the CT since France last year. The wins sees the three-time WSL Champion take home 10,000 points and move up on place to No. 4 on the Jeep Leaderboard with two events remaining.

The surfer from Hawaii dominated the Final from the start and posted two excellent scores on her first run to claim first place. Moore went on to improve her total an incredible second run where she earned two excellent scores and a 17.80 total. It was Moore’s decimating forehand that proved to be the dominant factor.

It was Medina’s second consecutive win following his victory in Tahiti last month and he is a big chance to take a second World Title this season. Medina has closed the gap on compatriot Filipe Toledo who still maintains a narrow lead on the Jeep 2018 Leaderboard over Medina.

Filipe Toledo finished Runner-Up today and provided one of the big highlights of the day when he scored a near perfect 9.8 as he chased the win. That wave included 3 outstanding aerials along with an excellent barrel and some massive turns.

6-time WSL Champion Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) couldn’t quite put her dream run together on Finals Day and finished runner-up. However, the Australian’s brilliant performance on her last right earned her an 8.87 that moved her up to second place over World Title contender Lakey Peterson (USA) and 16-year-old rookie Caroline Marks (USA), who failed to improve their scorelines on their final waves. Gilmore will retain the Jeep Yellow Jersey and has increased her lead over Peterson heading into the Roxy France Pro.

Surf Ranch Pro Women’s Final Results:

1 – Carissa Moore (HAW) 17.80

2 – Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 16.70

3 – Lakey Peterson (USA) 16.53

4 – Caroline Marks (USA) 14.77

Surf Ranch Pro Men’s Final Results:

1 – Gabriel Medina (BRA) 17.86

2 – Filipe Toledo (BRA) 17.03

3 – Kelly Slater (USA) 16.27

4 – Kanoa Igarashi (Japan) 15.77

5 – Owen Wright (AUS) 15.40

6 –  Julian Wilson (AUS) 15.37

7 – Sebastien Zietz (HAW) 15.07

8 – Miguel Pupo (BRA) 12.96

For more information, images and highlights, head to

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories