The Butkus Award announced its preseason watch list for the 2022 trophy on Monday.

Among the players tabbed were a pair of Hawaii high school graduates in former Hawaii linebacker and UCLA transfer Darius Muasau and SMU’s Isaac Slade-Matautia (Kaiser and Saint Louis).

All the latest sports news from Hawaii’s sports station

The Butkus Award, which annually honoring the best college linebacker, has 51 names on its watch list.

Muasau, who starred at the University of Hawaii from 2019 to 2021, transferred to UCLA after the conclusion of the 2021 season. While at UH, Muasau was an All-Mountain West Conference selection and posted consecutive triple-digit tackle seasons, totaling 213 tackles in his final two seasons in his home state. He enters 2022 as one of the most intriguing additions to the Bruins.

Slade-Matautia, is in his second season at SMU after spending four at Oregon, registered 31 tackles (13 solo), including 2.5 for loss and one sack. He also had a team-high two interceptions.

Preseason Butkus Award Watch List

Darren Anders, Bowling Green
Jeremy Banks, Tennessee
Micah Baskerville, LSU
Seth Benson, Iowa
JD Bertrand, Notre Dame
Tatum Bethune, Florida State
Troy Brown, Ole Miss
Ben Bywater, BYU
Jack Campbell, Iowa
Levani Damuni, Stanford
KD Davis, North Texas
Mohamoud Diabate, Utah
Jamon Dumas-Johnson, Georgia
Justin Flowe, Oregon
Sherrod Greene, South Carolina
Kyle Harmon, San Jose State
Calvin Hart Jr., Illinois
Daiyan Henley, Washington State
Nick Jackson, Virginia
Jestin Jacobs, Iowa
Carl Jones Jr, UCLA
Mikel Jones, Syracuse
Tyrice Knight, UTEP
Carlton Martial, Troy
Ventrell Miller, Florida
Jackson Mitchell, UConn
Jaylen Moody, Alabama
Isaiah Moore, N.C. State
Darius Muasau, UCLA
Donavan Mutin, Houston
Anfernee Orji, Vanderbilt
DeMarvion Overshown, Texas
Deshawn Pace, Cincinnati
Ivan Pace, Cincinnati
Owen Pappoe, Auburn
James Patterson, Buffalo
Bumper Pool, Arkansas
Luke Reimer, Nebraska
Merlin Robertson, Arizona State
Noah Sewell, Oregon
Trenton Simpson, Clemson
Isaac Slade-Matautia, SMU
Mariano Sori-Marin, Minnesota
DeAndre Square, Kentucky
Drake Thomas, N.C. State
Henry To’o To’o, Alabama
David Ugwoegbu, Oklahoma
Edefuan Ulofoshio, Washington
Payton Wilgar, BYU
Dorian Williams, Tulane
Dee Winters, TCU