Eleven Olympians to represent the University of Hawaii, including six water polo players


The highly anticipated Tokyo Olympics are underway and 11 former, current and future University of Hawai’i student-athletes will represent six different nations in three different sports at the 32nd Olympiad. The Opening Ceremony will begin at 8 p.m. in Tokyo on July 23rd but competition in softball begins on the 21st. 

Hawai’i will have four representatives on Australia’s softball team. This is the first Olympics with softball since 2008 after the International Olympic Committee discontinued the sport.

Six water polo student-athletes, including four former, one current and one incoming freshman, will compete in Tokyo. Incoming freshman Jordan Wedderburn and South Africa will be making the nation’s first-ever appearance at the Summer Olympics in water polo. Africa has never sent a representative in the sport. 

The lone male student athlete, Micah Masei, will represent American Samoa in swimming. The recent graduate competes in the breaststroke and freestyle.

Australia’s softball team, in which four former Rainbow Wahine compete for, opened the Olympics with a loss to the hosts Japan on July 21st.

Water polo will get their competition started on the 24th with Monika Eggens and Elyse Lemay-Lavoie (Canada) taking on Australia at 3:30 p.m. local time (8:30 p.m. HT July 23) and Irene Gonzalez Lopez (Spain) will take on incoming freshman Jordan Wedderburn (South Africa) at 6:20 p.m. local time (11:20 p.m. HT on July 23).

The swimming slate gets started on July 24th as well, with Micah Masei competing in the 100 breaststroke for American Samoa. 

Below is a list of all 11 Hawai’i student-athletes that will compete in Tokyo, what sport they will compete in, their competition start date (local time) and their bio from their time at UH. 

Tokyo Olympics
NameSportNationStart Date (local)Bio
Rachel Lack (2015-16)SoftballAustraliaJuly 21 
Kaia Parnaby (2010-13)SoftballAustraliaJuly 21 
Stacey Porter (2001-03)SoftballAustraliaJuly 21 
Clare Warwick (2006-09)SoftballAustraliaJuly 21 
Micah Masei (2017-21)SwimmingAmerican SamoaJuly 24 
Monika Eggens (2009-11, ’13)Water PoloCanadaJuly 24 
Elyse Lemay-Lavoie (2018-19, ’22)Water PoloCanadaJuly 24 
Dagmar Genee (2009-11)Water PoloNetherlandsJuly 24 
Maartje Keuning (2017-18)Water PoloNetherlandsJuly 24 
Irene Gonzalez Lopez (2016-19)Water PoloSpainJuly 24 
Jordan Wedderburn (incoming)Water PoloSouth AfricaJuly 24 

*Note: Honolulu is 19 hours behind Tokyo – thus start dates may be different than above.

For the full Tokyo Olympics schedule, click here. For up-to-date results of the Olympics, click here. #BowsInTokyo

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories