Help Hokulea’s crew win National Geographic’s Adventurers of the Year


Hokulea and its crew continue to be showered with national recognition.

This time, National Geographic has honored Pwo navigators Nainoa Thompson, Kalepa Baybayan, and the team as 2017 Adventurers of the Year.

The honor is given to those who demonstrate extraordinary achievements in exploration, adventure sports, conservation or humanitarianism.

On Hokulea, crewmembers are working to Malama Honua, or care for the earth, while also teaching a new generation how to navigate by stars.

The “People’s Choice” award is determined by online voting, which can be done online here.

You can vote once per day through Dec. 16. The winner will be announced in January 2017.

Thompson was previously a 2016 recipient of the National Geographic Society’s most prestigious award, the Hubbard medal.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories