Tua Tagovailoa & McKenzie Milton named semifinalists for Davey O’Brien Award

Fill out my online form.

Hawaii natives Tua Tagovailoa of Alabama and UCF’s McKenzie Milton are among 16 college football quarterbacks that were named semi-finalists for the 2018 Davey O’Brien Award which honors the nation’s top quarterback annually.

Tagovailoa, a two-time Cover2 Award winner out of Saint Louis has thrown for 2,361 yards, 27 touchdowns and one interception while completing 68 percent (132-of-194) of his passes in just nine games. 

Milton, a 2014 Cover2 Kaulukukui Award winner as offensive player of the year, is a Mililani graduate and has led UCF to a nation’s best 21 straight victories dating back to last season.

As a junior Milton has thrown for 2,109 yards while posting 26 total touchdowns.

In conjunction with ESPN, the Davey O’Brien Foundation and its National Selection Committee will release the names of the three finalists on Monday, Nov. 19. 

The 2018 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 6. 

The 42nd Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, February 18, 2019, at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

2018 Davey O’Brien Award semifinalists

  • Ian Book, Notre Dame
  • Mason Fine, North Texas
  • Ryan Finley, NC State
  • Jake Fromm, Georgia
  • Will Grier, West Virginia
  • Dwayne Haskins, Ohio State
  • Justin Herbert, Oregon
  • D’Eriq King, Houston
  • Trevor Lawrence, Clemson
  • Jordan Love, Utah State
  • Marcus McMaryion, Fresno State
  • McKenzie Milton, UCF
  • Gardner Minshew, Washington State
  • Kyler Murray, Oklahoma
  • Shea Patterson, Michigan
  • Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories