State strengthens ties with sister schools in Hiroshima


Hawaii is pledging to strengthen its ties with sister schools in Hiroshima.

Superintendents from the state Department of Education and Hiroshima prefecture signed Friday a Statement of Intent on Education Cooperation.

It formally acknowledges the cultural and educational benefits gained through establishing a formal relationship between the school districts, and both states will collaborate to expand these opportunities.

As part of the agreement, Hawaii and Hiroshima are planning a teacher exchange program, which is expected to launch next year.

“We’re looking for opportunities for our students to be able to experience the world beyond Hawaii, and I think these are opportunities that students can feel really comfortable knowing there’s a history of this friendship,” said schools superintendent Kathryn Matayoshi.

There are currently 11 high schools in Hawaii that have sister schools in Hiroshima: Aiea (Inokuchi High), Moanalua (Kokutaiji High), Roosevelt (Yasunishi High), Kalani (Koyo High), Kalaheo (Otake High), Campbell (Sogo Gijutsu High), Kaiser (Kannabe Asahi High), Mililani (Fuchu High), Waipahu (Fukuyama Iyo High), Kapolei (Fushi Higashi High), and Honokaa (Kake High).

This event also coincides with President Obama’s visit to Hiroshima on the same day.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories