Road ‘Tua’ Heisman: 1995 Heisman Trophy winner ‘very impressed’ with Tua Tagovailoa


We’re just two days away from learning if Hawaii will claim another Heisman Trophy winner.

Alabama quarterback and Saint Louis graduate Tua Tagovailoa is one of three finalists for the prestigious trophy.

The sophomore is hoping to become Hawaii’s second Heisman Trophy winner in just four years, following in the Crusader footsteps of Marcus Mariota, the former Oregon Duck who is now the quarterback for the Tennessee Titans.

The odds are heavily in the favor of either Tagovailoa or Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray to join the elite fraternity, with the number’s edge going to Murray, but with an asterisk.

Tagovailoa was by far more dominant taking over 200 less snaps in the season thanks to only playing in the fourth quarter three times all year.

KHON2 Sports Director Rob DeMello spoke with 1995 Heisman Trophy winner and four-time Pro Bowler Eddie George, who says this year’s Heisman hype is ripe for a suspenseful Saturday night.

“I’m very impressed with what I’ve seen from Tua this season, very, very deserving of all the honors and praise that he’s getting at this point in time,” George said. “(The trophy) goes to the most outstanding football player in the country. That encompasses everything, not just on the field, but off the field, and you tend to look at that – who he is in the community, how he serves as a leader, how his teammates respond to him. I think all of that goes into it. It’s not just about putting up big numbers or winning championships, but in terms of how you handle adversity and how you handle success, I think he’s handled those two the same.

“Whoever wins the award, life comes at you fast, and I understand that,” he added with a chuckle. “It’s going to be like a whirlwind of events, but embrace it, enjoy it, and just understand that also it gets better over time, so Heisman winners definitely have their perks.”

Be sure to stay with KHON2 News and through the weekend as we provide coverage of Tagovailoa’s quest to become Hawaii’s second Heisman Trophy winner.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories