Rainbow Warrior wide receiver Kemp named among nation’s elite


Biletnikoff Award Watch List

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – University of Hawai’i juniorMarcus Kemp was one of 48 receivers selected to the Biletnikoff Award Pre-season Watch List as announced by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the award. The award is given to the nation’s top receiver.

Kemp, a junior from Layton, Utah, led the Rainbow Warriors with 797 receiving yards last season and was second with 56 receptions. He averaged 14.2 yards per catch and ranked seventh in the Mountain West in receiving yards per game (61.3). Kemp also led the team with 12 catches of 20 or more yards including seven over 35 yards.

No UH player has won the award however Ashley Lelie (2001), Chad Owens (2004), and Greg Salas (2010) were semifinalists.

The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award selection committee and a group of 275 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. Additional receivers are periodically added to the watch list as their season performances dictate.

The 2015 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live, Dec. 10, 2015, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast 7:00-9:00 p.m. (ET) on ESPN. College Football Hall of Famer and Heisman Trophy winner Desmond Howard will present the 2015 Biletnikoff Award winner on the show. The winner will receive his trophy at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee, Jan. 30, 2016.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., will announce the 10 Biletnikoff Award semifinalists, Nov. 16, 2015, following the vote by the selection committee. The three finalists will be declared following another vote, Nov. 25, 2015.

The award is named after Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame; was an All-America receiver at Florida State University; and an All-Pro receiver for the Oakland Raiders. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raider career from 1965-78 and was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI. The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories