Rainbow Warrior football opens spring with new coaches, quarterback competition

News

The first day of spring was Tuesday, but the University of Hawaii football team delayed its spring football camp opening until early Wednesday morning.

Before the sun even arrived, players began trickling out of the locker rooms to T.C. Ching Field for their 6 a.m. workout with brisk trade winds greeting the Rainbow Warriors.

Six new assistant coaches brought an entirely different look and feel to head coach Nick Rolovich’s third season. Headlining the group was defensive coordinator Corey Batoon, who electrified the practice field with energy from the opening horn. 

Joining Batoon on defense was line coach Rick Longo and linebackers coach Mark Banker.

On offense, Rolovich implemented a run-and-shoot-based attack with sophomore gunslinger Cole McDonald getting most of the first team work behind center. 

A total of four quarterbacks are enrolled in spring camp, with junior Kyle Gallup and red-shirt freshman Justin Uahinui joined by true freshman, early enrollee Jeremy Moussa from Corona, Calif.

Senior Larry “Tui” Tuileta is on the team, but currently playing libero for the Rainbow Warrior volleyball team. Saint Louis senior and Cover2 Marcus Mariota Player of the Year Chevan Cordeiro is expected to enroll in the summer. 

The ‘Bows also got a face lift to the coaching staff on offense with Mark Weber handling offensive line duties and Andre Allen coaching wide receivers. Michael Ghobrial, whose hire was announced last week, is heading special teams.

Hawaii will continue spring camp Thursday and Friday morning before taking a nine-day sabbatical for spring break. 

Below is the football schedule for spring practices. All practices are open to the public.

For the first part of spring, practices will start at Clarence T.C. Ching Complex at 6 a.m. and move to the grass practice field at approximately 6:30 a.m.

Spring Football Dates

Wednesday, March 21

6:00 am

Thursday, March 22

6:00 am

Friday, March 23

7:00 am

  

Tuesday, April 3 

6:00 am

Thursday, April 5

6:00 am

Saturday, April 7

4:30 pm

  

Tuesday, April 10

6:00 am

Thursday, April 12

6:00 am

Saturday, April 14

4:30 pm

  

Tuesday, April 17

6:00 am

Thursday, April 19

6:00 am

Saturday, April 21

4:30 pm

  

Tuesday, April 24

6:00 am

Thursday, April 26

6:00 am

Saturday, April 28

5:30 pm (Spring Game)

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories