Rainbow Wahine skate past Nevada in 87th minute


HONOLULU – In a game that Hawaii led for more than 60 minutes, it took an 87th-minute goal from senior Addie Steiner for the Rainbow Wahine soccer team to clinch a 2-1 victory over Nevada and the Outrigger Soccer Classic Series co-championship on Sunday.

“It feels awesome,” Hawaii head coach Michele Nagamine said of the opening weekend as her team went 1-0-1 with a tie against tournament co-champion Oregon in addition to Sunday’s win. “We had some quality teams here this weekend and I thought we put together some pretty exciting stuff for the crowd. We have a lot of work to do. We’re going to enjoy this, and then get back to cracking on Tuesday.”

Steiner, a senior transfer from Northwestern, scored her 20th collegiate goal and first in a Hawaii uniform off a breakaway with less than four minutes to play to give the Rainbow Wahine the lead.

Raisa Strom-Okimoto put Hawaii (1-0-1) ahead 1-0 off a penalty kick in the 17th minute, and Hawaii held its 1-0 advantage until the 76th minute. A Hawaii foul just outside the top of the box gave the Wolf Pack (0-2-0) a free kick in scoring range, and Rylee Peterson beat Hawaii goalkeeper Monk Berger in the lower right corner to even the score.

“We talked about it at halftime, we said this is a very scrappy team that does not give up easily. If you let them back in the game, they’re going to punish you,” Nagamine said. “I thought we showed a lot of character, we kept plugging away.”

Berger made two saves in the game while Nevada goalkeeper Kelsey Quintos had one. The Rainbow Wahine held an 11-10 edge in shots, and Nevada had a 4-3 advantage in corner kicks.

Hawaii returns to action on Aug. 25 to host the second in the series of three Outrigger Soccer Classic Series, playing Sacramento State (Aug. 25) and Idaho State (Aug. 27) at Waipio Peninsula Soccer Stadium.Outrigger Soccer Classic Series #1 All-Tournament Team

Kyra Fawcett (Oregon)

Marissa Everett (Oregon)

Caitlyn Wong (Oregon)

Katelyn Carter (Oregon)

Paige Okazaki (Hawaii)

Raisa Strom-Okimoto (Hawaii)

Addie Steiner (Hawaii)

Callie Best (Gonzaga)

Sarah Carter (Gonzaga)

Angel Meriwether (Nevada)

MVP: Sonest Furtado (Hawaii)

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories