Oahu’s Olin Kreutz nominated for Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2017

Olin Kreutz_175285

LaDainian Tomlinson, Hines Ward and Brian Dawkins are among the 94 players and coaches nominated for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2017.

Joining those first-time eligible nominees was Saint Louis graduate, Olin Kreutz. The Niu Valley native, and namesake for KHON’s Cover2 Hawaii High School Football Weekly Lineman of the Year Award, played 12 NFL seasons, earning six Pro Bowl nods. He played 182 games with the Bears, and was part of their 2006 team that reached the Super Bowl. Kreutz retired in 2011 after playing four games with the Saints.

Already chosen to be discussed by the voting panel the day before the Super Bowl next February are senior finalist Kenny Easley and contributor finalists Jerry Jones and Paul Tagliabue.

Among the 2016 finalists back on the ballot are Kurt Warner, Terrell Davis, Edgerrin James, Terrell Owens, Joe Jacoby, Alan Faneca, Morten Andersen, Steve Atwater, John Lynch and coach Don Coryell.2017 nominees

List to be reduced to 25 in November (x-2016 nominee):

QUARTERBACKS (7) – Drew Bledsoe, Randall Cunningham, Doug Flutie, Donovan McNabb, Steve McNair, Phil Simms, x-Kurt Warner

RUNNING BACKS (13) – Shaun Alexander, Ottis Anderson, Tiki Barber, Larry Centers, Roger Craig, x-Terrell Davis, Eddie George, x-Edgerrin James, Daryl Johnston, Eric Metcalf (also WR/PR/KR), LaDainian Tomlinson, Herschel Walker (also KR), Ricky Watters

WIDE RECEIVERS (10) – Isaac Bruce, Henry Ellard (also PR), Torry Holt, Chad Johnson, Derrick Mason (also KR/PR), x-Terrell Owens, Sterling Sharpe, Jimmy Smith, Rod Smith, Hines Ward

TIGHT END (1) – Mark Bavaro

OFFENSIVE LINEMEN (14) – Tony Boselli (T), Ray Donaldson (C), x-Alan Faneca (G), Jay Hilgenberg (C), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C), x-Joe Jacoby (T), Mike Kenn (T), Olin Kreutz (C), Jim Lachey (T), Kevin Mawae (C/G), Tom Nalen (C), Nate Newton (G), Steve Wisniewski (G)

DEFENSIVE LINEMEN (5) – Leslie O’Neal (DE), Simeon Rice (DE), Fred Smerlas(NT), Jason Taylor (DE), Bryant Young (DT)

LINEBACKERS (11) – Carl Banks, Cornelius Bennett, Tedy Bruschi, Seth Joyner,Levon Kirkland, Clay Matthews, Willie McGinest (also DE), Karl Mecklenburg, Sam Mills, Joey Porter, Zach Thomas

DEFENSIVE BACKS (16) – Eric Allen (CB), x-Steve Atwater (S), Joey Browner (S),LeRoy Butler (S), Brian Dawkins (SS), Rodney Harrison (S), Ty Law (CB), Albert Lewis (CB), x-John Lynch (S), Frank Minnifield (CB), Bob Sanders (SS), Darren Sharper (FS), Dennis Smith (SS), Troy Vincent (S), Everson Walls (CB), Darren Woodson (S)

KICKERS/PUNTER (4) – x-Morten Andersen (K), Gary Anderson (K), Sean Landeta(P), Nick Lowery (K)

SPECIAL TEAMS (2) – Brian Mitchell (KR/PR also RB), Steve Tasker (ST also WR)

COACHES (11) – x-Don Coryell, Bill Cowher, Tom Flores, Mike Holmgren, Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, Buddy Parker, Richie Petitbon, Dan Reeves, Clark Shaughnessy, Dick Vermeil

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories