Marcus Kemp named MVP at Rainbow Warriors Football Banquet

Marcus Kemp_186543

The University of Hawai’i football team held its annual Alec Waterhouse Memorial Football Awards Banquet, Sunday, at the Pomaika’i Ballroom at Dole Cannery.

Wide receiver and four-year letterman Marcus Kemp was the recipient of the Alec Waterhouse Most Valuable Player Award. Kemp finished his career ranked in the school’s Top 10 for receiving yards and during the team’s regular season finale on Saturday, became the 19th player to surpass 1,000-yards in a single-season.

Head coach Nick Rolovich introduced a number of awards – all named after former UH head coaches – and reinstated the Ben Yee Most Inspirational Award, which was last presented in 2011. This year’s recipient is offensive lineman RJ Hollis, the team’s vocal leader and four-year letterman who started every game at right tackle the past two seasons.

The Coach June Jones Offensive MVP is junior offensive lineman Dejon Allen, a three-year letterman who has made 37 straight starts since his freshman year. This year, the Compton, Calif., native, leads the offensive line in grade (92%) and knockdowns (32) and helped UH to its best rushing average (160.6) since 1995.

The Coach Bob Wagner Defensive MVP is senior defensive back Trayvon Henderson, who is having his best season as a Rainbow Warrior. The four-year letterman is the team’s second leading tackler (85) and recorded his seventh career interception earlier this season.

The Coach Dick Tomey Special Teams MVP is senior Rigoberto Sanchez, who doubled as the team’s placekicker and punter the past two seasons. This season, he is a perfect 12-for-12 in field goal attempts and is averaging 44.6 yards per punt, which ranks among the nation’s leaders. He is a candidate for the Mountain West’s Special Teams Player of the Year.

The Captain’s Awards are now identified as the Coach Tom Kaulukukui Offensive Captain and Coach Otto Klum Defensive Captain awards. This year’s recipients are senior offensive lineman Leo Koloamatangi and senior defensive lineman Kory Rasmussen. Koloamatangi has started 12 of 13 games and has played every position on the line. Rasmussen has also made 12 starts this season and has 41 tackles, including 3.5 for loss.

The Coach Larry Price Unselfish Warrior recipient is senior running back Paul Harris while the Coach Dave Holmes Most Improved Player is sophomore linebacker Malachi Mageo. One year after a 1,000-yard rushing campaign, Harris served as a back-up running back this season as well as the team’s primary kickoff returner. He is still the team’s second leading rusher with 537 yards while his 24.1 return average is among the best in the Mountain West. Mageo has started all 13 games at outside linebacker after a redshirt freshman season in which he saw action mainly on special teams. Mageo is fourth on the team with 72 tackles, including 6.5 for loss and one sack.

The Jenny Masuda Scholar Athlete recipient is senior wideout Makoa Camanse-Stevens while the Scout Team award winners are running back Genta Ito (Coach Jimmy Asato Offensive Scout Team) and defensive lineman Cole Carter (Coach Hank Vasconcellos Defensive Scout Team).2016 Award Winners

Alec Waterhouse Most Valuable Player Award: Marcus Kemp

Coach June Jones Offensive MVP: Dejon Allen

Coach Bob Wagner Defensive MVP: Trayvon Henderson

Coach Dick Tomey Special Teams MVP: Rigoberto Sanchez

Coach Tom Kaulukukui Offensive Captain: Leo Koloamatangi

Coach Otto Klum Defensive Captain: Kory Rasmussen

Ben Yee Most Inspirational Player: RJ Hollis

Jenny Masuda Scholar Athlete: Makoa Camanse-Stevens

Coach Larry Price Unselfish Warrior: Paul Harris

Coach Dave Holmes Most Improved Player: Malachi Mageo

Coach Jimmy Asato Offensive Scout Team: Genta Ito

Coach Hank Vasconcellos Defensive Scout Team: Cole Carter

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories