Honolulu, Hana students among 2015 U.S. Presidential Scholars

us doe department of education logo_92867

Two Hawaii students received national recognition Monday when they were named 2015 U.S. Presidential Scholars.

They were two of 141 high school seniors recognized across the nation for accomplishments in academics or the arts.

Jack Wolfgramm from Hana is currently homeschooled while Sierra Hirayama from Kaneohe attends Kamehameha Schools in Kapalama.

Students are chosen based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

“These scholars are poised to make their mark on our nation in every field imaginable: the arts and humanities, science and technology, law and medicine, business and finance, education and government to name a few,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan. “Their academic and artistic achievements reflect a sense of purpose that we should seek to instill in all students to prepare them for college, careers, civic responsibilities, and the challenges of today’s job market.”

A ceremony will be held June 21, when each honoree will receive a Presidential Scholar Medallion.

Each year, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program honors one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and from U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large and 20 U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts.

It was created in 1964 and has honored nearly 7,000 students so far.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.