Dick Vermeil and Terry Donahue to serve as Head Coaches for 2018 Polynesian Bowl

5-10 polynesian football hawaii head coaches 2_209047

The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame announced today that coaching legends Dick Vermeil and Terry Donahue have agreed to serve as head coaches for the 2018 Polynesian Bowl.

Dick Vermeil served as head coach for the Philadelphia Eagles (1976-82), St. Louis Rams (1997-99) and Kansas City Chiefs (2001-05). He coached the Rams to their only world title and is the only coach to be named “Coach of the Year” on four levels: High School, Junior College, NCAA and NFL. His head coaching record is 120-109.

“It’s a genuine honor to coach in the 2018 Polynesian Bowl,” said Dick Vermeil. “I look forward to working with the NFL stars of tomorrow.”

Terry Donahue is a former college head coach and NFL General Manager (San Francisco 49ers). He served as the head football coach of UCLA from 1976-95, compiling a record of 151–74–8. Donahue has the most conference wins of any coach in PAC-12 history and the most wins in UCLA history. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame as a coach in 2000.

“This is an exciting opportunity to coach the nation’s elite high school football players,” said Terry Donahue. “It will be an incredible experience at a very special place.”

The Polynesian Bowl is a premier high school all-star football game that features the world’s elite players of Polynesian heritage and other ancestries. The nationally televised game will be played on Saturday, January 20, 2018 at Aloha Stadium on O`ahu, Hawai`i as part of the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend. Approximately 100 players will be selected for 2018, of which a majority will be of Polynesian ancestry. For more information, please visit www.PolynesianBowl.com.

“We welcome legendary coaches Dick Vermeil and Terry Donahue to the 2018 Polynesian Bowl,” said Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Inductee, Co-Founder and Chairman Jesse Sapolu. “Our players will have a once-in-a-lifetime experience to learn from two of the greatest football coaches in history.”

Last year, June Jones and Dick Tomey served as head coaches for the inaugural Polynesian Bowl.ABOUT THE POLYNESIAN FOOTBALL HALL OF FAME

The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame honors Polynesia’s greatest players, coaches and contributors. It also serves as a resource for Polynesian football history, provides college scholarships and supports educational programs. Its permanent home is located at the Polynesian Cultural Center (O`ahu’s North Shore) and was established in 2013 by Super Bowl Champions Jesse Sapolu and Ma’a Tanuvasa. Other board members include Troy Polamalu, Vai Sikahema, June Jones and Reno Mahe. For more information, visit www.PolynesianFootballHOF.org.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories