Track Santa’s worldwide journey with NORAD on Christmas Eve

Local News
norad santa_135322

This year, the North American Aerospace Defense Command (NORAD) celebrates its 60th anniversary of tracking Santa’s yuletide journey.

The tradition began in 1955 when a local newspaper advertisement directed children to call Santa directly — only the number was misprinted.

Instead of reaching Santa, the phone rang through to the crew commander on duty at the Continental Air Defense Command Operations Center. So staff checked the radar for signs of Santa making his way south from the North Pole and gave kids updates on his location.

Now, there are many ways children can track Santa. NORAD runs a Santa-tracking website, available in eight languages, plus mobile apps and social media accounts.

Starting at 12:01 a.m. MST (2:01 a.m. EST) on Dec. 24, website visitors can watch Santa make preparations for his flight. NORAD’s “Santa Cams” will stream videos on the website as Santa makes his way over various locations.

Then at 4 a.m. MST (6 a.m. EST), trackers worldwide can speak with a live phone operator to inquire as to Santa’s whereabouts by dialing the toll-free number 1-877-HI-NORAD (1-877-446-6723) or by sending an email.

Any time on Dec. 24, Windows Phone users can ask Cortana for Santa’s location, and OnStar subscribers can press the OnStar button in their vehicles to locate Santa.Click here to get started.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.