New members of Honolulu City Council sworn into office

Local News

Newly elected members of the Honolulu City Council were sworn in to office Friday.

One of them, Trevor Ozawa, won his seat in a run-off back in November against challenger Tommy Waters, defeating him by only 41 votes. Ozawa will represent Hawaii Kai, Kaimuki and Waikiki.

Brandon Elefante, a legislative aide to former council member Breene Harimoto, takes over his seat, representing Aiea, Pearl City and Waipahu. (Harimoto ran for, and won, the State Senate seat vacated by now-Governor David Ige.)

Council chair Ernie Martin and Carol Fukunaga were also sworn in, as they were re-elected to their seats.

The remainder of the City Council consists of Ikaika Anderson, Ann Kobayashi, Joey Manahan, Ron Menor and Kymberly Marcos Pine.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories