1976 Hokulea crew honored at Merrie Monarch Festival

Local News

A special honor for Hokulea’s first crew to sail to Tahiti and back, they were recognized Wednesday night at the Merrie Monarch Festival on Hawaii Island.

A song and hula dedicated to the crew and Hokulea were performed during Hoike Night.

Among the 1976 crew members in attendance: Nainoa Thompson, Ben Young, Kimo Lyman, Penny Martin, Gordon Piianaia, Snake Ah Hee. Kimo Highs, who was a big part of the training and crew selection, also attended. As did Tava Taupu, who sailed on Hokulea from 1978.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories